Prof. Zhou Guanghong Elected to International Academy of Food Science and Technology


The International Academy of Food Science and Technology (IAFoST) recently announced newly elected IAFoST Fellows, which include Prof. Zhou Guanghong of NAU.

IAFoST was created by the International Union of Food Science and Technology (IUFoST) in 1997. It is an independent, non-profit global non-governmental organization formed by prominent food scientists and technologists. The title of IAFoST Fellow represents the highest global honor in food science and technology. Currently, IAFoST has 210 Fellows, elected from scientists and technologists from around the world who have made exceptional contributions in food science and technology. Elections are held every two years, each of which will produce a maximum of 30 new Fellows.

Prof. Zhou’s education and research focuses on meat science and the quality control of meat products. He has made major breakthroughs in post-mortem aging, gelation and emulsification of muscle as well as in the forming mechanisms of flavors of traditional meat products. Under his leadership, his team had developed the key technologies for quality control of cooled meat, which is crucial for consumers trading up from fresh to cooled meat. He has also developed the key technologies for the processing of traditional and low-temperature meat products, which are a strong boost to China’s technological progress in meat processing. Prof. Zhou has developed serialized quality standards for meat products, transforming China from an importer and a participant into a setter of international standards on meat products.

Prof. Zhou is a winner of five major national honors, including the second-class National Science and Technology Progress Award and the Ministry of Education’s Science and Technology Progress Award. He owns 22 invention patents and has chaired the development of 14 national and international standards, published more than 200 papers and 3 (text)books, and advised over 40 doctoral candidates. In 1999, he began to serve as Chairman of China Association of Animal Products Processing. Between 2008 and 2015, he was Associate Editor of Meat Science. In 2012, he was elected Deputy Director General of the Chinese Institute of Food Science and Technology; in 2017, ISO Chairperson for meat, poultry, fish, eggs and their products; and in 2018, Fellow of the Institute of Food Technologists.