Bios of The Leadership


Chancellor: Chen Ligen

Mr. Chen Ligen was born in November 1961 in Changshu, Jiangsu Province. He is currently Party Secretary of Nanjing Agricultural University (NAU), while serving as Vice Chairman of the Leadership Talent Committee of China Talent Research, Deputy Director General of Jiangsu Land Science Society and an advisor to the Nanjing Municipal Government. He holds a doctoral degree in management and is a member of the Communist Party of China, a professor, and a doctoral advisor.

In 1986, he graduated from the Department of Horticulture of NAU with a bachelor’s degree. In 1999, he went to Wageningen University in the Netherlands to study law regarding the protection of agricultural land, resources and the environment. In 2000, he obtained a doctoral degree in land resource management from NAU.

Since he started his career in 1986, his professional roles at NAU have included: Deputy Secretary of the CYL Committee, Deputy Director of the Inspection Office, Party Secretary of College of Land Management, Director of the Office of the CPC Committee, and Head of the United Front Work Department. In July 2008, he was appointed as a Vice President-level manager of NAU; in September 2008, he was appointed as Member of the Standing Committee of the CPC Committee and Vice President of Xinjiang Agricultural University; in July 2011, he was appointed as Member of the Standing Committee of the CPC Committee and Vice President of NAU; in 2015, he was appointed as Party Secretary (Chancellor) of Shanxi Agricultural University. Since April 2018, he has been serving as Party Secretary (Chancellor) of NAU.

Mr. Chen has been committed to education and research on land administration, law, system, policy and rural development. He has chaired more than 20 provincial-, ministerial- and higher-level research projects, including those of the National Natural Science Foundation of China, the Ministry of Science and Technology, the Ministry of Agriculture and the Ministry of Land Resources as well as Jiangsu Province. He has published more than 200 academic papers and (co-)authored eight (text)books. He has been honored by six third- and higher-class technology awards.


President: Zhou Guanghong

Dr. Zhou graduated from Northwest A&F University In 1982, obtained his MSc from University of Nottingham in 1987, and PhD from Nanjing Agricultural University (NAU) in 1991. He was a visiting scholar at Meat Research Lab of CSIRO in Australia between 1991 and 1994.

Dr. Zhou become the professor of NAU since 1994, served as the Dean of College of Animal Science & Technology from1994 to1998, the Dean of College of Food Science & Technology from 1996 to 2001. Dr. Zhou was appointed as Vice President in 1998, and become the President since 2011.

Prof. Zhou is elected as IFT Fellow and IAFoST Fellow in 2018, he is also the Director and Chief Scientist of National Center of Meat Quality and Safety Control; Vice President of the Global Consortium of Higher Education and Research for Agriculture (GCHERA); Chairperson of ISO/TC34/SC6, Chairman of the Chinese Association of Animal Products Processing.

Vice Chancellor (Deputy Party Secretary): Mr. Zhou Guanghong

Vice Chancellor (Deputy Party Secretary): Mr. Sheng Bangyue

Vice Chancellor (Deputy Party Secretary): Mr. Wang Chunchun

Vice Chancellor (Deputy Party Secretary): Mr. Liu Yingjun

Vice President: Mr. Hu Feng

Vice President: Mr. Dai Jianjun

Vice President: Mr. Ding Yanfeng

Vice President: Mr. Dong Weichun

Vice President: Mr. Yan Xianglin

Vice President: Mr. Chen Fadi